As the gluten-free diet surges in popularity, supermarkets, restaurants, and treat shops are rolling out gluten-free alternatives to your favorite eats--from pancakes to pop tarts to brownie mix. Now, you can add Chick-fil-A sandwiches to the list for its gluten-free bun.
The fast-food chicken joint unveiled its new gluten-free bun in response to a rise in requests from customers. The soft, springy bun contains ground quinoa, sorghum, and amaranth, in addition to raisins and molasses for a touch of sweetness. To avoid gluten cross-contamination, all gluten-free buns are served in individual packages for diners to assemble into sandwiches themselves. The buns cost extra and contain 150 calories each.
More gluten-free options at Chick-fil-A
Not feeling a fried chicken sandwich? You've got options, from entrees like grilled nuggets to milkshakes and more.
Chick-fil-A offers a number of gluten-free menu items, including:
- Breakfast hash browns cooked in a gluten-free fryer.
- Grilled chicken nuggets.
- Waffle potato fries cooked in a gluten-free fryer.
- Grilled Market salad.
- Spicy Southwest salad.
- Fruit cup.
- Frosted lemonade.
- Yogurt parfait.
- Ice Dream dessert cup.
- Kids' gluten-free chicken nuggets.
- Buddy Fruits applesauce.
- Bacon slice.
- Orange juice.
- Side salad.
- Sausage patty.
Other restaurants offering gluten-free food
Chick-fil-A isn't the only restaurant that has recently released no-gluten goodies. Shake Shack and Red Robin also offer a gluten-free bun, and Cheeseburger in Paradise serves a gluten-free burger with gluten-free fries.
The Old Spaghetti Factory dishes out gluten-free spaghetti and other pastas topped with a variety of gluten-free sauces. Uno Chicago Grill delights pizza lovers with its menu of cheese, pepperoni, and veggie gluten-free pies... the list goes on.
Keep in mind, though many restaurants offer gluten-free menu items, that doesn't necessarily mean the food is cooked in a gluten-free kitchen. According to Chick-fil-A,
"Due to the handcrafted nature of our food, variations in our supplier ingredients and our use of shared cooking and preparation areas, we cannot ensure that our restaurant environment or any menu item will be completely free of gluten."
Be sure to tell your server about your gluten intolerance when you dine out, and inquire about fryer status and preparation methods to determine the potential for cross-contamination if you're concerned about it as an allergen.
This article was originally published on March 17, 2018.