You Can Harvest Roadkill for Food if You Live in One of These 27 States

Humans have been eating roadkill since the first ox cart flattened a critter in ancient Mesopotamia thousands of years ago. Today, you can find "roadkill cuisine" simmering on stovetops in kitchens across the U.S. Animal rights activists and foodies alike hail roadkill as one of the most ethical and environmentally friendly meats. Advocates point out that these animals were not raised or killed for food, and argue eating roadkill makes use of a valuable free-range protein source that would otherwise go to waste.

Over a million deer are hit by cars in the U.S. annually, meaning tens of millions of pounds of free-range venison could be salvaged by eating roadkill every year.

Oh, Linger Lodge... Don't ever change, k? #lingerlodge #trueflorida #ihadthebbqpork #roadkillcuisine #swamplife

A post shared by @affectiousobjects (@affectious_objects) on

Roadkill is free of the antibiotics, hormones, and growth stimulants found in factory farmed meat. Any many roadkill species--including elk, deer, boar, and certain game birds--are pretty darn tasty, and sell for quite a bit when farm-raised, packaged, and offered in stores.

Hungry for some venison jerky or possum pot pie? If you live in Oregon, you could get a chance to try roadkill when Senate Bill 372 goes into effect. The bill allows residents to obtain permits to harvest wildlife killed by vehicles. Oregon is joining 20+ other states that have laws legalizing the salvaging of roadkill in some form. We've listed all the states you can legally harvest roadkill for food below.

  • Alabama (Only non-protected animals and game animals during open season may be harvested)

  • Alaska (Individuals are not allowed to harvest animals, but moose, caribou, and other species may be distributed through volunteer organizations)

  • Arizona (Big game animals may be collected with permit)

  • Arkansas

  • Colorado (Proper authorization required)

  • Georgia (Native species may be harvested; must notify state about roadkilled black bears)

  • Idaho

  • Illinois (Proper hunting or trapping license and/or habitat stamp required)

  • Indiana (Permit required)

  • Maryland (Permit required)

  • Massachusetts (Permit required; must submit roadkill for state inspection)

  • Michigan (Deer and bear may be salvaged with permit)

  • New Hampshire

  • New York (License or tag may be required depending on species)

  • New Jersey (Only deer may be salvaged with permit)

  • North Dakota (Permit required)

  • North Carolina (Must be registered over the phone by DNR staff)

  • Ohio

  • Oregon

  • Pennsylvania (Must report incident to state Game Commission within 24 hours)

  • South Dakota (Proper notification and authorization required)

  • Tennessee

  • Utah (Permit required to salvage non-protected species)

  • Vermont (Possession tag required for big game animals and furbearers)

  • Washington

  • West Virginia (Must be reported within 12 hours of collection)

  • Wisconsin (Must be registered over the phone by DNR staff)

Watch: How to Make Jalapeño Venison Blue Cheese Burgers